The Level 2 Certificate in Culinary Skills provides learners with a more extensive beginners’ programme with a greater contact time and depth of learning.

Core units

Candidates must achieve all 5 mandatory units, providing (25 credits):

  • Vegetables, sauces & soups
  • Poultry, meat, and game
  • Fish & shellfish
  • Cold & hot desserts
  • Baking & baked products

Click here for a link to the qualification specification.

Learning hours

Candidates will require approximately 210 hours of teaching to achieve the learning outcomes of the programme, all of which should be tutor guided in a practical kitchen environment.

Assessment Methods:

All units of the Level 2 Certificate in Culinary Skills are assessed via practical examination where candidates will be required to produce dishes in a professional kitchen environment. Each unit is assessed and carries equal weighting towards the qualification. All units must be passed to achieve the qualification.

The qualification is internally assessed but with external moderation from a CTH assessor. Moderation will take the form of attending examination sessions and analysis of internal assessor’s mark schemes for consistency of application of marks. CTH will also carry out a standardisation session with each delivery centre prior to practical examinations taking place.

Find a CentreFind your nearest CTH Approved Teaching Centre where this programme is available