The Level 2 Diploma in Culinary Skills is a fully-rounded beginner’s programme offering a wide-ranging introduction to professional cooking.

Core units

Candidates must achieve all 9 mandatory units, providing (37 credits):

  • Vegetables, sauces & soups
  • Poultry & meat
  • Fish & shellfish
  • Cold & hot desserts
  • Baked products
  • Farinaceous dishes
  • Dough products
  • Health & safety
  • Food safety practice

Click here for a link to the qualification specification.

Optional units

Candidates also have a selection of additional optional units, these include:

  • Nutrition and healthier dishes
  • Eggs and egg dishes
  • Vegetarian cookery
  • Menu planning and costing

Learning hours

Candidates will require approximately 310 hours of teaching to achieve the learning outcomes of the programme, all of which should be tutor guided in a practical kitchen environment.

Assessment Methods

Most of all units of the Level 2 Diploma in Culinary Skills are assessed via practical examination where candidates will be required to produce dishes in a professional kitchen environment. Each unit is assessed and carries equal weighting towards the qualification. All units must be passed to achieve the qualification.
The qualification is internally assessed but with external moderation from a CTH assessor. Moderation will take the form of attending examination sessions and analysis of internal assessor’s mark schemes for consistency of application of marks. CTH will also carry out a standardisation session with each delivery centre prior to practical examinations taking place.

Find a CentreFind your nearest CTH Approved Teaching Centre where this programme is available